About

Development Bank of the Republic of Belarus (the DBRB) – a specialized financial institution established in accordance with Decree of the President of the Republic of Belarus dated June 21, 2011 № 261 (hereinafter - Decree No. 261). The Bank is founded by the Council of Ministers and the National Bank of the Republic Belarus. The Bank is formed as a legal entity and is not a classical credit financial institution in the definition established by the Banking Code of the Republic of Belarus. Accordingly, the Bank cannot be referred to second-tier banks in the traditional interpretation of the term.

Creation of the DBRB was carried out in close cooperation with the leading international financial institutions, in particular, the International Monetary Fund and the World Bank and based on the analysis of international practice of the similar institutions functioning.

The main objective of the DBRB is elaboration of financing system for government programs and the implementation of socially significant investment projects.

Three main goals set to the DBRB are:

  1. financing of long-term and capital-intensive investment projects in the framework of government programs and activities implementation;
  2. supporting  small and medium-sized enterprises by means of special  credit products granted through  a network of partner banks;
  3. extension of  concessional export credits to support large (over USD 1 million) projects of domestic exporters.

Activities of the DBRB are comprehensively regulated by the special legal act having the force of law – Decree No. 261. This document states that in the part not regulated by the Decree itself the Law on banking activities may be applied to the Development Bank.

Pursuant to the Decree of the President of the Republic of Belarus dd May 31, 2016 No184 the DBBR activities are supervised by  the National Bank of the Republic of Belarus. The legal requirements as regards  banking  supervision  over banks and non-bank  credit and finance  entities shall apply to the Development Bank subject to peculiarities specified by the National Bank.

To achieve the objective and goals of their activities  the DBRB is authorized to perform certain active and passive operations, which are typical for commercial banks (lending, budget fundraising to deposits, placing of funds on the market, opening of accounts, clearing transactions, foreign exchange transactions) but without obtaining the National Bank’s license thereto.

The DBRB is granted the exclusive right to act as the Government’s agent bank to serve and repay external government loans.

In 2013 the DBRB received a strong support at entering the financial markets in the form of the Government’s subsidiary liability on the bonds issued by the Bank. In this case within the scope of the bond issue fixed by the Government, the Bank may issue these bonds without fulfillment of certain legal requirements on collateral of these securities. A concrete procedure for the implementation of vicarious liability of the Government of the Republic of Belarus against the Development Bank’s liabilities is defined by the Decree of the President of the Republic of Belarus of December 19, 2014 No. 600.

Given the existence of a subsidiary  liability of the Government of the Republic of Belarus, the  National Bank  has adopted specific solutions which refer  the bonds of the Development Bank to the most secure financial instruments (similar to the Government’s securities) having the following characteristics:

  • at the acquisition, no special reserves to cover eventual losses on assets and operations that are not reflected on the balance at the acquisition of the bonds of the Development Bank  are to be formed (Resolution of the Board of the National Bank dated March 28, 2013 No. 182);
  • the bonds of the Development Bank are included in the collateral list of securities accepted by the National Bank as a security for collateral loans and other credits (Resolution of the Board of the National Bank dated February 4, 2014 No. 61). The obligations security coefficient under the Development Bank’s bonds comes to 0.95 that corresponds to the coefficient set for government bonds and bonds of the National Bank of the Republic of Belarus;
  • the bonds of the Development Bank are categorized as highly liquid assets (with a 0 percent risk in Belarusian rubles and 20 percent in a foreign currency) (Resolution of the Board of the National Bank of April 7, 2015 No. 217).

The Development Bank is not provided with the government guarantees, and accounting is run according to the rules established by normative acts of the National Bank for the second-tier banks.

Pursuant to the  Decree of the President of the Republic of Belarus of December 9, 2014 No. 572 the Development Bank manages the funds of a family capital, and  in line with the Decree of the President of the Republic of Belarus as of  June 24, 2015 No257 the Development  Bank also  manages the toxic assets of woodworking enterprises. 

The Development Bank is the only organization in the Republic of Belarus (not related to the state authorities), which has the right to rule-making initiatives (Decree of the President of the Republic of Belarus of December 19, 2014 No. 600).

According to the Tax Code of the Republic of Belarus (Article 138) incomes on bonds of the Development Bank are exempt from the income tax.

Implementation of the development institution centralizing  the functions of funding  large investment and  infrastructure  projects facilitates the increasing  of government programs efficiency, rational  utilization of budget funds applied  for development  of the national economy, decreasing of risk level in the banking sector of the Republic of Belarus.

О банке

Банк развития – специализированный финансовый институт, созданный в соответствии с Указом Президента Республики Беларусь от 21 июня 2011 г. № 261 (далее – Указ № 261). Учредителями банка выступили Совет Министров и Национальный банк Республики Беларусь. Банк образован в форме юридического лица и не является классической кредитно-финансовой организацией в определении, установленном Банковским кодексом Республики Беларусь. Соответственно банк не относится к банкам второго уровня в традиционном понимании этого термина.

Создание Банка развития велось в тесном сотрудничестве с ведущими международными финансовыми организациями, в частности, с Международным валютным фондом и Всемирным банком, и основывается на анализе международной практики функционирования аналогичных институтов.

Главной целью деятельности Банка развития является развитие системы финансирования государственных программ и реализация социально значимых инвестиционных проектов.

Перед Банком развития поставлены три основные задачи:

  1. финансирование долгосрочных и капиталоемких инвестиционных проектов в рамках реализации государственных программ и мероприятий; 
  2. оказание поддержки субъектам малого и среднего предпринимательства посредством предоставления специальных кредитных продуктов через партнерскую сеть;

  3. предоставление льготных экспортных кредитов для поддержки отечественных предприятий-экспортеров.

Деятельность Банка развития комплексно регулируется специальным нормативным правовым актом, имеющим силу закона, – Указом № 261. Этим документом определено, что в иной части, не урегулированной самим Указом, к Банку развития может применяться законодательство о банковской деятельности.

В соответствии с Указом Президента Республики Беларусь от 31 мая 2016 г. № 184 надзор за деятельностью Банка развития осуществляет Национальный банк Республики Беларусь. Требования законодательства, предусмотренные для банков и небанковских кредитно-финансовых организаций в области банковского надзора, применяются к Банку развития с учетом особенностей, установленных Национальным банком.

Для достижения цели и задач своей деятельности Банку развития предоставлено право осуществлять отдельные активные и пассивные операции, которые характерны для коммерческих банков (кредитование, привлечение средств бюджета в депозиты, размещение средств на рынке, открытие счетов, проведение расчетов, валютные операции), но без получения в Национальном банке лицензии на их проведение.

Банку развития предоставлено исключительное право выступать в качестве банка-агента Правительства по обслуживанию и погашению внешних государственных займов.

В 2013 году Банк развития получил мощную поддержку при выходе на финансовые рынки в виде субсидиарной ответственности Правительства по выпускаемым Банком облигациям. При этом в пределах объема эмиссии облигаций, установленного Правительством, Банк вправе выпускать указанные ценные бумаги без выполнения отдельных требований законодательства в части дополнительного обеспечения этих бумаг. Конкретный порядок реализации субсидиарной ответственности Правительства Республики Беларусь по обязательствам Банка развития определен в Указе Президента Республики Беларусь от 19 декабря 2014 г. № 600.

С учетом наличия субсидиарной ответственности Правительства Республики Беларусь Национальным банком приняты специальные решения, которые относят облигации Банка развития к наиболее надежным финансовым инструментам (аналогичным ценным бумагам Правительства), имеющим следующие характеристики:

  1. при их приобретении могут не создаваться специальные резервы на покрытие возможных убытков по активам и операциям, не отраженным на балансе (постановление Правления Национального банка от 28 марта 2013г. № 182);
  2. облигации Банка развития включены в ломбардный список ценных бумаг, принимаемых Национальным банком Республики Беларусь в качестве обеспечения ломбардных и других кредитов (постановление Правления Национального банка от 4 февраля 2014 г. № 61). Коэффициент обеспечения обязательств по облигациям Банка развития равняется 0,95, что соответствует коэффициенту, установленному для государственных облигаций Республики Беларусь и облигаций Национального банка;
  3. облигации Банка развития отнесены к категории высоколиквидных активов (со степенью риска 0 процентов в белорусских рублях и 20 процентов в иностранной валюте) (постановление Правления Национального банка от 7 апреля 2015 г. № 217).

Банку развития не предоставляются гарантии Правительства, а бухгалтерский учет ведется по правилам, установленным нормативными актами Национального банка для банков второго уровня.

В соответствии с Указами Главы государства (от 9 декабря 2014 г. № 572, от 24 июня 2015 г. № 257) Банк развития выполняет ряд специальных функций: управляет средствами семейного капитала, а также активами 9 базовых предприятий деревообрабатывающей промышленности.

Банк развития является единственной организацией в Республике Беларусь (не относящейся к органам государственного управления), которая имеет право нормотворческой инициативы (Указ Президента Республики Беларусь от 19 декабря 2014 г. № 600).

В соответствии с Налоговым кодексом Республики Беларусь (статья 138) доходы по облигациям Банка развития освобождены от обложения налогом на прибыль.

Внедрение института развития, сконцентрировавшего функции по финансированию крупных инвестиционных и инфраструктурных проектов, способствует повышению эффективности реализуемых государственных программ, рациональному использованию бюджетных средств, направляемых на развитие национальной экономики, снижение уровня рисков в банковском секторе Республики Беларусь.